Pin a Cup of Coffee

i-LOVE-coffee-coffee-25055460-1280-800

Today I found this story and it moved me so much, so I decided to share it with you.

Interview with  Tonino Guerra:

When I wrote for [Vittorio] De Sica the script for “Marriage Italian style, “I arrived in Naples and De Sica told me:” I know you northern Italians don’t like us in south. “That’s not true. Of course, we are a little afraid, but it’s not true. Then he invited me to a cafe. Typical cafe with open doors, summer, hot, and we’re sitting in a cafe that’s near a railway station. Two people enter and say: “Five coffees, two we’ll drink now and pin the other three.” […] They pay for five coffees, and drink their own two. I asked De Sica, what are these pinned coffees? He says, “Wait.” A bit later enter two girls, drink their coffee and pay. […] Shortly after enters a fine young man and orders two coffees, drinks one, pays for two and goes away. De Sica and I stayed till noon, talking, the doors opened, as I was looking at this sun-drenched square, suddenly I saw some dark shadow approaching the door. […] Approaching the bar closer I realize that this a poor man. He looks in the cafe and asks: “Are there any pinned coffees?”… This story just moved me to tears, you can weep from tenderness … “

This kind of charity for the first time appeared in Naples. People pay for the coffee of someone who can not afford a cup of hot coffee. This custom now has left the borders of Italy and has spread to many cities around the world.

Thanks to Pin a cup

6 thoughts on “Pin a Cup of Coffee

  1. Pingback: Free Guitar
  2. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  3. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and coverage!

    Keep up the good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

Leave a Reply

